Lucky Blue Suit

Does this look contagious to you?

My Favorite Albums of 2018

Lets not pretend there’s any sort of pretense of quality here, these simply are my 10 favorite albums this year:

10. Kendrick Lamar & Various Artists – Black Panther: The Album

It’s like Kendrick made us all a mix tape. I am grateful.

9. CHVRCHES – Love is Dead

This is easily my least favorite album of theirs, but I’ll be damned if it didn’t grow on my more and more with each passing month.

8. Behemoth – I Loved You At Your Darkest

I’m at the point in my musical journey where I find the most comfort in familiarity. I like Behemoth, this album sounds like a Behemoth album, I like this album.

7. Ariana Grande – Sweetener

Hands down my favorite pop album this year.

6. Harakiri For The Sky – Arson

Like I’m not gonna love an album that opens with a song called “Fire, Walk with Me”

5. Pig Destroyer – Head Cage

What you’ll get with this release is 12 songs in 30 minutes, but it is far less grind and far more rhythm that I ever thought they would do. And it is TERRIFIC. This may be my favorite evolution of the Pig Destroyer sound.

4. Jay Rock – Redemption

Perhaps more important than how much I like this album, this summer on The Chmpions Tour I got to see Kendrick and Jay perform Money Trees live. It was better than I ever could’ve hoped.

3. Sigh – Heir to Despair

Unlike anything I’ve ever heard before and that I’ll ever hear again. Nothing I could say will do it justice.

 

2. Skeletonwitch – Devouring Radiant Light

This is the masterpiece I did not think they could make, after how disappointed I was with their prior album, the first release with their new singer.

 

1. Ghost – Prequellle

This is the pop metal album of my dreams.

 

Leave a comment