Lucky Blue Suit

Does this look contagious to you?

Top TV of 2015 Part 2 (20-1)

And now for the thrilling conclusion. Part 1 here.

20. iZombie (CW)

Move over, The Walking Dead, this is easily the best zombie-based entertainment on television right now. And no one on tv is having more fun than the delightful Rose McIver.

19. Silicon Valley (HBO)

They never quite surpassed the greatness of last year’s dick joke in the finale, but the “Let Blaine Die SWOT Board” joke did come awfully close.

18. UnREAL (Lifetime)

Oh boy did this show come out of nowhere. If you are unfamiliar, it was created by a former producer on The Bachelor and is an inside look behind the scenes at a fictional Bachelor-type dating show. It is terrific and dark and features two standout performances by Shiri Appleby and Constance Zimmer. And holy crap is it dark. Did I mention that already. Leave your hangups at the door and check it out. You’re sure to be entertained.

17. Broad City (Comedy Central)

In a season that hit numerous hilarious high points, including Hannibal Buress’s line delivery to end the cold open of “Citizen Ship”, #IlanaAndMaeby4Life, and Bevers’s “jazz” quote; Val tops them all for me (and there is also a terrific call forward in the season premiere):

16. Parks and Recreation (NBC)

I don’t know if I want to write too much about it because then I’m going to start missing it terribly. But I do want to point out how incredible it was to find out that Amy Poehler does a KILLER Megan Mullally impression. OK, now I’m just going to post a gif to commemorate a wonderful final season so I don’t start crying.

Goodnight, sweet prince.

15. Scandal (ABC)

Despite being hamstrung by all the bonkers insanity of the events of the first 4 seasons, Scandal has managed to pivot yet again this year and turn into a wonderful dark anti-hero drama. Sepinwall posited as much in a wonderful piece. Don’t be fooled by preconceived notions: Scandal is, was, and always will be so much better than House of Cards.

14. The Jinx (HBO)

Usually I don’t allow non-scripted mini-series onto this list, but I felt I had to make an exception this year, as two of my favorite series fell into this category and were good enough for me to bend my (totally arbitrary rules). I love true crime stuff and this one pulled me in from the very get go. The reveals at the ends of the final two episodes were among the most shocking in all of television all year.

13. Nathan For You (Comedy Central)

Nathan seemed to go for a lot more big, higher concept, ideas this year: The Movement, Smoker’s Allowed, and of course the insanely epic The Hero. And the end product is nothing short of superb. Even the more traditional episodes were a cut above last year. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I’ll just leave you with the best off-the-top-of-your-head ghostwritten sentence ever:

The candles flickered, the sheets were still, but all the energy in the room surrounded Roman and Kenzie. Kenzie stepped forth and… gently touched Roman’s arm. He suddenly felt weak in his legs and trembled and fell as if his Achilles heel had been struck by a blade, but all it was was simply a woman’s touch.

12. Banshee (Cinemax)

If you love action and are not watching this show, you are missing out on something special. Sure the plot exists merely to get from one action scene to the other. OK, the characters aren’t very deep and nuanced. But for pure craziness and complex action, it might not ever be topped. The assault in “A Fixer of Sorts” may be the most insane and wonderful episode of any television show all year. The heist later on was shot in a way I’ve never seen before. Still don’t believe me? Just watch this:

11. You’re the Worst (FXX)

This was the 2014 show I’m the most glad I stuck with through a beginning I didn’t particularly care for, as it was one of the most consistently hilarious (albeit darkly hilarious at times) things on television. And this year, the depression arc took it to hauntingly stunning new heights, without losing very much of the humor. Aya Cash for all the awards.

10. Making A Murderer (Netflix)

Made it in just under the wire!! I, like everyone else, managed to get through this over the holiday break. I was slower than others I know because I would get so infuriated after a couple episodes I had to stop for the night. Regardless of your opinion of the crime and criminals at the heart of the story, it’s easy to agree that this is a wonderfully put together documentary that shines a light on two trials that expose all the ills of the justice system. It’s likely to leave you feeling hopeless.

9. Mr. Robot (USA)

I initially went into this show being thankful that someone finally gave Rami Malek a starring vehicle, but whished it wasn’t some dumb USA summer series. And then I watched the premiere. And it wasn’t just good. It was OUTSTANDING. It is dark and twisted and confusing. And make no mistake it is Rami Malek’s show. So many terrific moments.  There is a prison break. There is a heist. And then there is the hearbreaking scene that precedes this:

8. Better Call Saul (AMC)

Hell yes, Bob Odenkirk can carry a show. This turned out even better than I could have hoped. It does a terrific job of both being adjacent to Breaking Bad and standing on its own. And it is always a pleasure to have Jonathan Banks on my television screen. But we all know what you wanted to be reminded of:

“Hey buddy, you’re the one with the sex toilet.” should’ve been 2015’s go to insult.

7. The Leftovers (HBO)

I had no idea where they were going to go without any more book material to work off of, but season 2 has been even better so far. I haven’t quite finished because I couldn’t take any more depression after Making a Murderer, so they could still botch the landing with the ending, which is why this isn’t higher. But In the 1.5+ seasons I’ve seen, I have no reason to doubt it will be anything short of excellent.

6. Mad Men (AMC)

Sometimes a gif can sum up everything so perfectly, words are not needed.

5. Veep (HBO)

Veep made a ton of wonderful decisions this year: letting Selina take over the presidency, pairing Jonah and Richard, adding Hugh Laurie to the cast, and the entire form-breaking “Testimony” episode primary among them. Also this is amazing and I should use it more:

tumblr_nmqmpmngQg1qj7pdmo1_540

4. Justified (FX)

Out of all the terrific shows that left us last year, this one I will miss the most. It’s also very bittersweet to think that Elmore Leonard didn’t get to see the ending, because it does him justice. On a happier note, I still think about Wynn Duffy every day. I hope he’s out there: surfing the finest waters, drinking cucumber water, so very rich and happy.

 

3. Review (Comedy Central)

It is not often where the darkest and funniest shows on television are the same. In a show that could be terrific as a series of standalone 30 minute episodes, Review chooses to take the opposite plan and serialize EVERYTHING to increase the drama and hilarity. It is so stuffed full of great jokes, that one of the best goes unremarked on in the opening credits. It is Andy Daly at his absolute best. And it is the best comedy on television today.

2. The Americans (FX)

The best series on television got even better this year. A quick rundown: They are the only drama that knows how to properly use and write for their child characters. They continue to make outstanding uses of an 80’s soundtrack. The “Baggage” episode is hands down the winner for the most cringe-inducing sound effects on all of television. I am so very happy we get another season. Long live mail robot!

1. Fargo (FX)

I’m sure by now enough has been made of the terrific performances, from an off-type Bokeem Woodbine to the best Kirsten Dunst in ages to the scene stealing Nick Offerman (as Karl Weathers!) to the always wonderful Ted Danson, Jesse Plemons, Jean Smart, Patrick Wilson to everyone else, really. Enough has also been made of the directing (use of splitscreens) to the soundtrack (so much wonderfulness) to the writing. So I just want to close this list with my three favorite scenes:

3) Bokeem Woodbine reciting Jabberwocky while gearing up for a shootout.

2) Everything Nick Offerman does in the “Rhinoceros” episode.

1) Kirsten Dunst with the best line delivery of the best line of the tv season:

I can’t wait to see what television has in store for us in 2016.

One response to “Top TV of 2015 Part 2 (20-1)

  1. Pingback: Top TV of 2015 Part 1 (40-21) | Lucky Blue Suit

Leave a comment